A Walk To Peace

Alot has happened since my last blog post, but I don’t have much time for Internet interaction these days. My daughter’s wedding is getting closer, and her Bridal Tea is just around the corner. The Tea is in my home. It’s a beautiful, well-built but little bit older home we bought and moved into last December. A truly amazing thing God did for us! But that’s a whole other story! The house needs some work, though. So we planned to whittle away at it a little at the time. I had done alot of painting, and we’d made some minor repairs before moving in and in the weeks following. But then, I said we could have the Tea here. It seemed like a good idea at the time; we’ve got space and I thought what needed to be done to get it ready for such an affair was fairly simple. Of course, it’s turned into quite a feat, and my husband and I are trying vehemently to complete my list of house “to-do’s”. It will all work out though, and be beautiful!

On top of that, we are still ironing out all the details for our daughter’s Big Day. Planning a wedding is certainly a time and finance consuming effort, and could be peace consuming as well. But it is also a very joyous and exciting time! So I choose to walk in peace with God, and not let the devil apprehend my thoughts to try to twist them negatively. God has always come through for us in every trial, hardship, hurdle, and life event. Usually in astounding, if not miraculous ways! They are too numerous to list here at this time. But, He always provides for us in every thing and causes us to love and trust Him all the more!

My wise husband says, “Worrying never gets you anywhere, or gets anything done. It just gives you gray hair. 90% of what we worry about never happens anyway, so don’t make things a big deal.” That’s good advice! And through the years, I truly believe God has given him a revelation of that and he practices what he preaches. Thank You, Jesus, for answered prayer!     

If I didn’t have the Lord to give me His divine wisdom, supernatural strength, and unfailing peace, I don’t know where I’d be right about now. How does anyone live without a relationship with Jesus? Accomplishments are chalked up to our own power and wittiness, I suppose. And peace? Well, I guess that’s part of the reason why many people have mental breakdowns. There is no true peace without the Lord to give us guidance and comfort. One may say they have peace, but it is artificial peace without a relationship with Jesus Christ. There’s a type of pushing back the anxiety through other counterfeit and/or man-made methods for calm and serenity; just enough get by until one day…the lid blows off! I have been there. It’s not pretty! Even someone in a relationship with the Lord can have that happen. We have to make a conscious determination to lay things down and let God deal with them. But to let Him deal with them wholly; His way, on His timetable. Hard to do in our own flesh. But if the Holy Spirit is within you, and you are fully submitted to His will, then laying down human efforts for God’s way can be painless and comfortable.  We CAN have real peace when we walk with Him!

That is what I have to purpose to do every day. I make a deliberate intention to lay down my will and my way, for God’s will and His way. When I give Him my burdens for His peace, things go alot better for me. I cannot do things in my own strength and my own power. I cannot get by with my own wits and my own plans. It always gets messed up…and I always end up in the middle of that mess I made. Thank the Lord, He picks me up, cleans me up, and gives me a ‘message out of that mess’! But it’s so much better if I give it to Him from the very start! We were created to trust in God, who has all the power and gives us His strength and His mind to accomplish the things we do.  If we could see beyond our human-ness, through divine eyes, we would see Him at work in our lives everyday and could see that without Him we achieve nothing. We need a deep realization that God is everywhere, all the time, working out His plans. He is so much bigger than any problem, or anything we can do about that problem.  His hand is so much bigger and so much better than our own. If we had that profound understanding, we could always walk with Him in true, everlasting peace. 

Here are some of my favorite Bible verses for peace:

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and He helps me. (Psalm 28:7)

Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken. (Psalm 55:22)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. (Isaiah 40:31) 

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you;  I will uphold you with My righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10)

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.(Matthew 11:28-30)

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food and the body more than clothes. (Luke 12:22-23)

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? (Luke 12:25-26)

The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. (Romans 8:6)

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

Cast all your anxiety on Him because he cares for you. (1 Peter 5:7) 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

I can do all this through Him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

 

About KupofJo

I'm just an average 'Jo' who is saved and set free day by day through God's grace, seeking to know my Lord and follow His Way. Along this path I desire to walk in love, peace, joy, strength, valor and obedience to His statutes. As I attempt to do what He calls me to do as a woman, wife, mother, daughter of the Most High King and part time writer, I am human and will certainly stumble along the way. I am so thankful that we have a God who is merciful and shows us grace beyond what we deserve. Thanks for stopping by and traveling alongside me in this journey, if only briefly, as I scribe the thoughts He places within my heart, as well as some day-to-day notions about His world and the people in it. Grab a cup of your favorite beverage and enjoy the stroll!
This entry was posted in JESUS, Just Rambling, Morning Kup. Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to comment, add a suggestion or ask questions.

